Alpine Skiing

  • Winter
  • Pyeongchang
  • Beijing

Alpine Skiing

Alpine skiing is one of the main attractions of winter sports. As in the Olympic program, the Paralympic program for alpine skiing consists of 5 events: downhill, super-G, giant slalom, slalom, and super combined. Skiers in the sitting classification use equipment such as single ski, sit-ski and orthopedic aids, and race down slopes at speeds of over 100km/h.

Tips on watching games

In para-alpine skiing, athletes compete in one of three general categories: standing, sitting, and blindness/visual impairment. Each category has a set of classifications depending on impairment type, level, and functional ability. In alpine skiing, a factoring system is used to allow athletes of different classes to fairly compete against each other. Each class of skiers is given a number, and each skier's finish time is multiplied by this number to calculate the results and determine the winner. In the blindness/visual impairment category, a guide verbally signals to lead the skier through the course. Some of the world’s top sit-skiers are amongst the Japanese national alpine skiing team members, including Akira Kano, double gold medalist in downhill at the 2014 Sochi Paralympics, Takeshi Suzuki, also a Sochi gold medalist in slalom, and Taiki Morii, captain of the national team and Sochi silver medalist in Super-G.

  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share on Google+

Click here for more information
on games and events